Engineer Applicant FAQ
Engineer Applicant FAQ
Arizona currently does not grant registration by endorsement (reciprocity/comity). Applicants must demonstrate they meet registration requirements pursuant to the Arizona Practice Act by submitting an Engineer Registration Packet application and supporting documents, with the applicable fee. If the applicant is applying with a national council record, they should request to have it transmitted to the Arizona Board as the supporting document.
Once an applicant has submitted all required documentation, the process takes approximately 8-12 weeks. However, that timeframe may be influenced by the quality of the documents submitted in support of the application and the availability of professional evaluators to review and confirm education and/or experience qualifications. If an applicant has a valid and active national council record, timeframes may be significantly shortened.
No, the BTR does not have expedited services.
Foreign education must be translated into English and evaluated for equivalency by a nationally accredited evaluation service. Once an education evaluation has been completed, the applicant should have the results submitted to the Board. If the evaluation report does not contain a graduation date, official transcripts will be required as well.
Yes, Arizona does not require education for registration or exam authorization.
Yes, however, a separate application for each individual designation must be submitted for evaluation. In addition, separate documentation and fees must be submitted for each application.
Arizona requires the NCEES 16-hour Structural exam for Structural registration.
Yes, at this time, candidates wishing to take the FE exam must first apply to the Board for exam authorization before they can schedule their exam through NCEES. Once approved, candidates will have one year to take and pass the exam, otherwise, a new application and fee will be required to obtain further authorization.
Approved exam applicants have one year to take and pass their exam. If an applicant is unable to pass their exam during their year authorization, they must submit a new application and fee to obtain further authorization.
In order to qualify for a waiver of the Fundamentals Exam, an applicant must have both a graduate of a school and curriculum recognized by the board and 12 years of experience following graduation pursuant to A.R.S.§32-126(D) or provide verifiable documentation that the applicant has had an active professional registration in the profession applied for in another jurisdiction for 10 of the last 15 years pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-126(A)(3).
No. In-Training designation is not a State requirement. However, many employers do require that employees have the designation, which can be easily obtained once the applicant has passed the Fundamentals examination.
No. When applying for In-Training designation, either can be provided. An applicant must provide proof of four years of work experience under the supervision of a registrant in their specific field OR official college transcripts showing a four year degree pursuant to A.R.S.§32-122 and A.R.S. §32-122 v.2.
No. You are not required to supply any information to the Arizona Board of Technical Registration if you were auto-approved for examination through NCEES. When you have successfully taken and passed the exam, you will need to apply with the Board for professional registration. However, if NCEES does not authorize you directly for examination, you must complete an application for exam authorization with the Arizona Board of Technical Registration. The Arizona Board of Technical Registration cannot approve applicants for examination who do not have an active exam application with the Board.
In order to qualify for a waiver of the Professional Exam, an applicant must provide verifiable documentation that the applicant has had an active professional registration in the profession applied for in another jurisdiction for 10 of the last 15 years pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-126(A)(3).
Yes. The Board requires that all Arizona applicants complete the form and provide proof of eligibility to work in the United States. There is a box non-residents can check indicating that they are nonresidents of Arizona. Please see the Arizona Statement of Citizenship form for a list of acceptable forms for proof of eligibility.
Yes, but the Arizona Board of Technical Registration cannot accept applications by email as all applications must be accompanied by payment in the form of a check or money order. However, all supporting documentation, can be submitted to [email protected] or directly to your licensing specialist electronically. Official transcripts, license/exam verifications, and certificate of experience forms must come from the source rather than the applicant.
Application documents are maintained by the Board per the State Records Retention schedules. Applicants may request that previously submitted documents be reused, using the “Previously Submitted Documents Affirmation Form” found in the application package, understanding that the request may be denied, in which case, the applicant will be responsible for supplying missing documentation.
Yes. The Arizona Board of Technical Registration requires an explanatory statement and verifiable documentation regarding all criminal and disciplinary actions. The official documentation must include details from inception to dissolution of any and all incidents despite the length of time since the occurrence.
If you answer "yes" to any of the questions regarding arrest or conviction, you must provide the Board with a detailed written explanation regarding the facts and circumstances surrounding the incident and provide official court documentation supplying your explanation which includes the disposition of the arrest, even if the charge was ultimately dismissed, set aside or expunged. (i.e., police reports, court orders.). You should be able to contact the court in the jurisdiction the action took place in. False or misleading answers regarding any information provided to the Board of Technical Registration as part of your request for registration or certification may result in denial of your application. The Board will verify your answers to the background questions by searching public records databases. If it determines that you answered any of the questions in the Background/Discipline Section of the application untruthfully, it may be grounds to deny your application.
Engineer registration is valid for three years from the date of issuance. The Board will send out courtesy reminders to renew, however it is the responsibility of the individual to complete the renewal timely.
Pursuant to A.R.S. §32-141 Firm Registration – “A firm shall not engage in the practice of any board-regulated profession or occupation unless the firm is registered with the board and the professional services are conducted under the full authority and responsible charge of a principal of the firm, who is also a registrant.”
Yes. Per ARS § 32-141, firms providing professional services must be registered with the Board. This includes registrants offering services as a solo practitioner / DBA (Doing Business As). Per ARS 32 § 101(B)(13), "Firm" means any individual or partnership, corporation or other type of association, including the association of a nonregistrant and a registrant who offers to the public professional services regulated by the board.
Registrants may submit a Verification Request with the $25 fee to be processed and sent to either a national council or state board. Requests may take up to 30 days to be processed due to the large number of requests received daily. Verification of licensure and/or exams can only be completed for individuals registered with the Board.