Notices to All Applicants

Notices to All Applicants

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1093.04 a person with a criminal record may petition the Arizona State Board of Technical Registration (“Board”) prior to submitting an application for licensure for a determination of whether the person’s criminal history disqualifies the person from obtaining a license. The Board will review the Petition and make a determination within 90 days whether the Petitioner’s criminal record disqualifies Petitioner from Registration/Certification.  If you are interested in doing so, please complete this form. 

PLEASE NOTE: Any determination made by the Board pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1093.04 is limited to whether the disclosed criminal history disqualifies the person from Registration/Certification.  In order to obtain a Registration/Certification, pursuant to A.R.S. § 32, Chapter 1, Article 2, the person must submit a completed application to the Board.  Upon its receipt, the Board will review the application for purposes of determining whether the person meets all of the requirements for Registration/Certification as set forth in its statutes and regulations. 

Review of Criminal History Form 

Per A.R.S. § 41-1080.01 "an agency shall waive any fee charged for an initial license for any of the following individuals if the individual is applying for that specific license in this state for the first time:

1. Any individual applicant whose family income does not exceed two hundred percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

2. Any active duty military service member's spouse.

3. Any honorably discharged veteran who has been discharged not more than two years before application."

Fee Waiver Request Form

If an applicant feels his/her criminal history record is inaccurate or incomplete, please refer to the appropriate contact below to begin the review and challenge process.

  • ​For a copy of an Arizona criminal history record:
    • ​The individual can contact Department of Public Safety Criminal History Records Unit at (602) 223-2222 to obtain a fingerprint card and a Review and Challenge Packet, or the individual can download information from the Criminal History Records Unit section of the DPS website. The Department of Public Safety provides the review and challenge packet pursuant to R13-1-08 of the Arizona Administrative Code.
    • This will check the Arizona criminal history only.
  • For a copy of an FBI criminal history record:
    • ​U.S. Department of Justice Order rules and federal law allow the subject of an FBI record to request a copy of his/her own record. The individual may submit fingerprints, an Applicant Information Form, and payment directly to the FBI according to the procedures in Title 28 Code of Federal Regulations 16.30 - 16.34.
    • FBI contact phone for information about record review and challenge: (304) 625-5590

Submittal forms, checklists, and more information on how to review and challenge an FBI criminal history record can be found at the FBI website under Identity History Summary Checks.

​An applicant, controlling person, alarm agent or home inspector will have no more than the 60-day substantive review period to challenge a criminal background check report. 

Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulation to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare concern. Pursuant to section s 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statues.

Notwithstanding any other law, the education, training or experience requirements for a license, certificate or registration issued pursuant to this title are completely or partially satisfied, as determined by the regulating entity, on presentation of satisfactory evidence that the applicant received substantially equivalent education, training or experience as a member of the United States armed forces or any national guard or other reserve component. The regulating entity shall work in conjunction with the department of veterans' services to access information regarding the applicant's military education, training or experience.