-STOP-

Do not continue unless you can answer 'yes' to the following questions:

- Are you currently registered in a state that regulates home inspectors, and, if so, have you been registered for at least one year and are in good standing?
- Have you established AZ residency?

Additional information:

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-122.01(B): Within sixty days after certification and before any fee-based home inspection is performed, a home inspector certified pursuant to this chapter shall file one of the following financial assurances pursuant to rules recommended by the home inspector rules and standards committee and adopted by the board: 1. Errors and omissions insurance for negligent acts committed in the course of a home inspection in an amount of \$200,000 in the aggregate and \$100,000 per occurrence.

2. A bond that is retroactive to the certification date in the amount of \$25,000 or proof that minimum net assets have a value of at least \$25,000.

HOME INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION UNIVERSAL LICENSURE APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Please ensure you have all items before submitting your application. If any items are missing, your application will be returned.

Applicant Name:

Completed application, all questions answered, signed and dated.

A signed check in amount of \$175.00 for the application & initial registration fee.

A copy of the applicant's clearance card (front and back) along with signed "Notice for Home Inspectors" Page.

Completed, signed and dated "Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits,"

along with a copy of supporting evidence

Military status form

Proof of Residency along with signed "Proof of Residency" Page.

Verification of holding a license in at least <u>one US State</u> for <u>at least one year</u> and documentation of the following for that license:

- 1. Confirmation from other state as to whether or not an examination was required and confirmation that the applicant took and passed the examination.
- 2. Documentation, in the form of statute and rule that the practice level allowed by the license in that state is equivalent to Arizona's practice level.
- 3. Documentation, in the form of statute and rule, of the minimum standard for education and experience in the state of licensure, and verification from the state that the applicant met both.

List of licenses in <u>all states or jurisdictions</u> where the person is licensed submitted by the agency of jurisdiction.

Disclose all pending complaints, allegations and investigations from any regulatory entity in another state or country and cause the regulatory entity to provide the AZBTR with the status of case.

Disclose any disciplinary action taken by any other regulating entity and cause the regulating entity to send a copy of the Order directly to the AZBTR.

Disclose any revocation or surrender of a license in any other state or country and cause the state or country to send a copy of the Order directly to the AZBTR.

Disclose any criminal convictions that is listed in the bill and cause the court of jurisdiction to send a copy of the Order to the AZBTR.



1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 (602)364-4930 FAX: (602)364-4931 https://btr.az.gov/

UNIVERSAL LICENSURE APPLICATION FOR HOME INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK INK APPLICATION & INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE \$175.00

Please submit a check or money order made payable to the Arizona Board of Technical Registration

1. GENERAL INFORMATION

Name: Last	First:	Midd	lle:	
Name: Last Date of Birth (mandatory):	Sc	ocial Security # (mandatory	<i>r</i>):	
Citizenship or Legal Residence: _				
Residence Address:		Apt/Suite/Unit:		
City, State, Zip:		Telephone #:		
Mailing Address:		Apt/Suite/Unit:		
City, State, Zip:				
Business Address:		Apt/Suite/Unit:		
City, State, Zip:		Telephone #:		
Email:				
If you have been legally known b	y another name(s) list here with	ith explanation and provide	e documentatio	on:
	2. BACKGROUND/I	DISCIPLINE		
1. Have you had any license revolution yes, you do not qualify for appl			YES	NO
yes, you do not quanty for appr	ication unough A.K.S. y 52-4	502. L		
—				
2. Has <u>any</u> regulatory agency imp 1) a copy of the disciplinary or			YES	NO
documentation confirming whe				
resolved.				
3. Do you have a complaint, alleg	pation or investigation pendin	g in any state or		
country? If yes, please cause the	e regulating entity to confirm	whether the complaint,	YES	NO
allegation or investigation has b	been resolved and disclose how	w the matter was		
resolved.				
		г		1
4. Do you have criminal history the			YES	NO
by the Board, pursuant to A.R.S jurisdiction to submit the court		e cause the court of □		
Janisaletion to submit the court	accumpnito to the Bould.			

Page 1 of 2

Receipt Number: _____ Amount Paid: _____

Criminal History Check Completed

No Further Action Required Further Information Required	
Initials:	
Date:	

3. HOME INSPECTOR REGISTRATION/CERTIFICATION IN ANOTHER STATE

Applicant must provide verification of each registration /certification listed.

State	Date of Initial Registration	Registration #	Current Status

4. NATIONAL EXAMINATIONS

Do you hold a certificate indicating successful completion of the National Home Inspector
Examination as administered by the Examiners Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI)?
If "yes," please attach a copy of the certificate.

5. HOME INSPECTOR TRAINING COURSE

# of Hours Completed	Date Completed
	# of Hours Completed

6. CERTIFICATION/RELEASE

I certify the information contained in this application is accurate, true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Making a false unsworn statement is a misdemeanor punishable by fine or imprisonment. A.R.S. 13-2704.

Applicants Signature:

Date:

Arizona Revised Statutes ("A.R.S.") 41-1030(B) states that "[a]n agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition."

A.R.S. 41-1030(D) states that "[1]his section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section." A.R.S. 41-1030(E) states that "[a] state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the Agency's adopted personnel policy."

A.R.S. 41-103/00(F) states that "[this section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02." Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulation to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare

concern. Pursuant to section s 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statues

Pursuant to Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes, a person shall be granted an occupational or professional license or certificate if the person has been licensed or certified in another state for at least twelve months, the license or certificate is in the same discipline and at the same practice level as the license or certificate for which the person is applying in this state and the person meets other conditions prescribed by Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes.

No No

Yes

NOTICE FOR HOME INSPECTORS Please carefully read this document before signing and returning it with your application.

In answering questions 1 and 2 in Section 2, Background/Disciplinary on the application, please note the following:

- If you answer "yes" to <u>either</u> of the questions, you must provide a detailed written explanation regarding the facts and circumstances surrounding the incident.
- If you answer "yes" to question 1, you must have supporting documentation sent directly to the Board. (Board disciplinary orders, Board complaint, order of registration or certification, etc).
- You must answer "yes" to question 2 even if you pled "no contest" or "nolo contendere" to the felony or misdemeanor charges, and even if the conviction has been set aside or expunged regardless of what you have been advised in the past.
- False or misleading answers regarding any information provided to the Board of Technical Registration as part of your request for registration or certification may result in denial of your application.

Applicant signature

Date

1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 (602)364-4930 FAX: (602)364-4931 https://btr.az.gov/

APPLICANT PROOF OF ARIZONA RESIDENCY

With this application, please provide one form of proof of Arizona Residency. The Arizona Board of Technical Registration accepts the following documentation as proof of Arizona Residency:

- A valid Arizona driver's license / ID Card -or- a current Arizona motor vehicle registration
- Documentation demonstrating a permanent address in Arizona on pertinent records, such as a utility bill, mortgage payment, lease payment.
- Military Form 2058
- Arizona Voter Registration

Applicant signature

Date

ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS Arizona State Board of Technical Registration

A.R.S. § 41-1080 provides that, with certain exceptions, an agency or political subdivision of this state shall not issue a license to an individual if the individual does not provide documentation of citizenship or alien status by presenting documentation to the agency or political subdivision indicating that the individual's presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.

Directions: All applicants must complete Sections I, IV and either Section II or III.

SECTION I - APPLICANT INFORMATION

APPLICANT'S NAME (Print or type)	DATE
TYPE OF APPLICATION (check one): INITIAL APPLIC	CATION RENEWAL
TYPE OF LICENSE	
SECTION II – I am Providing Documentation Pursua	ant to ARS 41-1080(A)
Please indicate below which document you are providing to the Board. Pursuan the Board does not include a photograph, you will be required to provide a photograph in addition to the document you are submitting to the Board pursua document(s) with your application.	government issued document that does contain you
1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona nonoperating	identification license.
2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the Unit	ited States.
3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate issued in any state, territor	ry or possession of the United States.
4. A United States certificate of birth abroad.	
5. A United States passport.	
 5. A United States passport. 6. A foreign passport with a United States visa. 7. An I-94 form with a photograph. 	
7. An I-94 form with a photograph.	
8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment author	orization document or refugee travel document.
9. A United States certificate of naturalization.	
10. A United States certificate of citizenship.	
11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood.	
12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.	

13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license.

SECTION III - I am exempt from providing documentation pursuant to ARS 41-1080(B)

If you complete this section, you are required to provide proof to the Board validating your exemption from the requirements of ARS 41-1080(A). I acknowledge that I am exempt from providing documentation pursuant to ARS 41-1080 for the following reason: Pursuant to ARS 41-1080(B)(1): I am a citizen of a foreign country or I am currently residing in a foreign country, AND The benefits that are related to the license do not require me to be present in the United States in order to receive those benefits. Please indicate the document you are providing to the Board to establish that you are a citizen of a foreign country or are residing in a foreign country. The document need not include a photograph. Document: Pursuant to ARS 41-1080(B)(2): I am a resident of another state, AND I hold an equivalent license in that state to the one I am applying for in Arizona, AND I seek the Arizona license to comply with Arizona's licensing laws and not to establish residency in Arizona. Please indicate the document you are providing to the Board to establish that you are a resident in another state and that you hold a license in that state that is equivalent to the one you are applying to in Arizona. The document need not include a photograph. Document:

SECTION IV – Declarations

All applicants must complete this section. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the answers I have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Applicant's Signature

Date

FOR RENEWAL APPLICATIONS ONLY:

Pursuant to ARS 41-1080(C), if you have affirmatively established citizenship of the United States or a form of nonexpiring work authorization issued by the federal government through one of the 13 documents requested in Section I, on renewal or reinstatement of a license, you are not required to provide subsequent documentation of that status.

Pursuant to ARS 41-1080(D), if, on renewal or reinstatement of a license, you hold a limited form of work authorization issued by the federal government that has expired, you shall provide documentation of that status.



Military Status - A.R.S. § 32-4304(A)(4)

Effective July 1, 2022, a regulating entity that issues an occupational or professional license shall "track veteran and military spouse status of applicants". All state agencies shall report the information to the Governor's office on an annual basis.

It is requested that you provide the following information in order for the Arizona Board of Technical Registration to comply with A.R.S. § 32-4304(A)(4):

Are you active duty military? yes no I do not wish to answer Are you a veteran?

> yes no I do not wish to answer

Are you the spouse of an active duty military individual?

yes no I do not wish to answer

Are you the spouse of a veteran?

yes no I do not wish to answer

Home Inspector Clearance Card Instructions

The State of Arizona Board of Technical Registration will begin requiring clearance cards with home inspector applications on August 3, 2018. Any person who applies for certification must obtain a clearance card issued by DPS. No application will be approved for certification without a valid clearance card.

Obtaining a clearance card

Effective August 3, 2018, DPS will begin accepting electronic and hard copy clearance card applications. Please wait to schedule your fingerprint appointment with DPS until then.

Electronic application for clearance cards – Arizona in-state applications only.

- 1. Apply on-line at <u>www.azdps.gov</u>
- 2. Make your appointment to be printed using the web site.
- 3. Check the Box for BTR-Home Inspector (this may not be initially available. Ask DPS for an addendum).
- 4. Print out a copy of your application confirmation and application number
- 5. Keep the appointment to be printed.
- 6. Your application and prints will be sent to the DPS Team at the same time.
- 7. If you have no criminal history, the process may take 7 to 10 days after DPS receives the application. An applicant with a criminal history may take several weeks to be processed.
- 8. DPS will mail the clearance card to the address you provided. If you provided an email, DPS will notify you of the status of your application via email.

Hard Copy application for clearance cards – required for all out-of-state applicants and available to in-state applicants

- **1.** Call DPS at (602) 223-2279 to request a hard copy application for a clearance card. The package will be mailed to you.
- **2.** Complete the application following the instructions provided with the package.
- 3. Check the Box for BTR Home Inspector
- **4.** Contact your local law enforcement to see if they provide fingerprinting services for the public or contact a private fingerprinting service.
- 5. Return the white original application form filled out correctly, completed fingerprint card with your fingerprints and with the top portion filled out correctly, and payment in one of the acceptable forms of payment made payable to DPS. Acceptable forms of payment are cashier's check, money order, or business check.
- **6.** Keep the yellow copy of your application for your records. The Board may require you to provide a copy of the form depending the type of application submitted.
- **7.** If you have no criminal history, the process may take 15 to 20 days after DPS receives the Application. An applicant with a criminal history may take several weeks to be processed.
- **8.** DPS will mail the clearance card to the address you provided. If you provided an email, DPS will notify you of the status of your application via email.

Questions, concerns, denials for clearance cards

Do not contact the Board with questions or concerns about the clearance card process or if your clearance card application is denied. Contact DPS at (602) 223-2279.

State of Arizona



BOARD OF TECHNICAL REGISTRATION

1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 (602)364-4930 FAX: (602)364-4931 https://btr.az.gov/

Attention: Home Inspectors with Criminal Histories

As of August 3, 2018, home inspector applicants **must** obtain a clearance card from DPS to apply for home inspector certification. If you have a criminal history, your application for a clearance card may be denied. If your clearance card application is denied, you can apply to the Arizona Board of Fingerprinting for a good cause exemption. The AZ Board of Technical Registration urges you to apply for your DPS clearance card well in advance of your certification application date so that you will have time to apply for and receive a good cause exemption in the event your clearance card application is denied.

Home Inspectors who have been denied a clearance card through DPS can apply to the AZ Board of Fingerprinting for a good cause exemption. Please refer to https://fingerprint.az.gov for more information on the good cause exemption application.

A delay in applying for a clearance card and good cause exemption will delay the Board's ability to process your home inspector application.



1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 (602) 364-4930 FAX: (602) 364-4931 https://btr.az.gov/

Notice to All Applicants

Any firm offering professional services under the Board's jurisdiction in this state without a current annual firm registration on file with the Board may be in violation of <u>ARS 32-141</u> and subject to disciplinary action. Each firm must have a Principal, who is a registrant in this state, in order to be registered with the Board.

As part of your application process, you may submit the Firm Registration form and fee with your initial application. The firm registration will be processed and the status will be "Pending" until the individual registration is granted. Once granted, staff will update the firm's status to "Active" and set the firm's initial activation date to the same day of the individual's grant date. If the individual registration is not granted, the Board will close the firm and refund the firm registration fee.

Am I obligated to submit a Firm Registration form with my initial application for registration or certification?

No, it is voluntary, however doing so will align your certification's expiration date with the firm's expiration date.

What are the benefits of submitting a firm registration before I am granted a registration or certificate?

If granted registration, you may have to wait to offer professional services in this state until your firm registration is processed, among other requirements. Having your firm active the day your registration becomes active gets you one step closer to being able to offer professional services in Arizona.

Do I need to register a firm if I plan to work as a sole practitioner / doing business as?

Yes. Pursuant to <u>ARS 32-101</u>, Firm is defined as "any <u>individual</u> or partnership, corporation or other type of association including the association of a non-registrant and a registrant who offers to the public professional services regulated by the Board."

I have questions, who do I contact?

Please contact Licensing Manager Julie Pham with any questions.

julie.pham@azbtr.gov 602-364-4955

1110 W. Washington Street, Suite 240, Phoenix, Arizona 85007, (602) 364-4930, Fax (602) 364-4931 https://btr.az.gov

ANNUAL FIRM REGISTRATION

REGISTRATION FEE \$50.00

(Do Not Use For Branch Office Registration) (Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-141)

PLEASE TYPE **OR PRINT LEGIBLY**

		Expiration Date:
New Firms will be issued a number. Lea	ave blank if new firm	n. This is the current expiration date. Leave blank if new t
Firm Name:		
		Annual Registration
Address:		New Registration
City State	Zip	
	1	
Phone		
Email:		
CATEGORY OF PROFESSIONAL SE		
	Inspection	Landscape Architecture Geology Surveying
Engineering: (Services Offered f		
	Chemical	Civil Control Systems
_ ~ _		
	Fire Protection	
Metallurgical Mining	Nuclear	Petroleum Sanitary Structural
Provide the names, Arizona registration n	umber(s), and signatur	re(s) of the Registrant(s) in RESPONSIBLE CHARGE. Each firm must
register annually and must have a princ	ipal registrant who has	re(s) of the Registrant(s) in RESPONSIBLE CHARGE. Each firm must s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm.
Provide the names, Arizona registration n register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name	number(s), and signatus pipal registrant who has 	re(s) of the Registrant(s) in RESPONSIBLE CHARGE. Each firm must s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm.
register annually and must have a princ	ipal registrant who has	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm.
register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name	ipal registrant who has	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm. Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. #
register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name Registration Category and/or Branch	ipal registrant who has AZ Reg. #	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm. Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # Registration Category and/or Branch
register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name Registration Category and/or Branch REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant	ipal registrant who has AZ Reg. # Date	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm. Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # Registration Category and/or Branch REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant
register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name Registration Category and/or Branch REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant Principal Registrant's Name	ipal registrant who has AZ Reg. # Date	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm. Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # Registration Category and/or Branch REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant Date Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. #
register annually and must have a princ Principal Registrant's Name Registration Category and/or Branch REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant Principal Registrant's Name Registration Category and/or Branch	Date	s the authority and responsibility for professional services of that firm. Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # Registration Category and/or Branch Date Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # REQUIRED Signature of AZ Registrant Date Principal Registrant's Name AZ Reg. # Registration Category and/or Branch

A.R.S. 41-1030(D) states that "[t]his section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section."

A.R.S. 41-1030(E) states that "[a] state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the Agency's adopted

personnel policy." A.R.S. 41-1030(F) states that "[t]his section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12 820.01 or 12 820.02."